Municipal Liability

MDAFP is a leader in the defense of municipalities. Our successes involve the defense of general negligence claims against municipal corporations involving premises and security liability and accidents stemming from the use of cars, trains, buses, trucks, police, fire vehicles and ambulances.

MDAFP is well versed in handling high profile civil rights cases including Federal 1983 claims of police excessive force, false arrest and malicious prosecution. We are also highly experienced in defending employment claims asserted against municipalities, including sexual harassment, discrimination and retaliation claims including Title VII, Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and have defended municipalities before the New York State Division of Human Rights. We have been retained directly by municipalities to draft their Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) policies and conduct in-house discrimination investigations.

MDAFP has also defended municipalities in cases involving lead poisoning in children and possess extensive knowledge in the New York City regulations regarding lead paint and the various tests for ascertaining lead levels in all surfaces.

Municipal clients that we represent include the following:

Villages: Amityville, Ardsley, Babylon, Baxter Estates, Bayville, Bellport, Brewster, Briarcliff, Briarcliff Manor, Brightwaters, Bronxville, Cedarhurst, Centre Island, Chester, Cornwall on Hudson, Croton on Hudson, Dobbs Ferry, East Hampton, East Hills, Ellenville, Farmingdale, Florida, Great Neck, Great Neck Estates, Great Neck Plaza, Greenwich, Greenwood Lake, Haverstraw, Head of the Harbor, Hewlett Bay Park, Hewlett Harbor, Hewlett Neck, Irvington, Island Park, Kiryas Joel, Lake Success, Lawrence, Liberty, Lloyd Harbor, Lynbrook, Malverne, Mamaroneck, Manorhaven, Massapequa, Massapequa Park, Mineola, Monticello, Mount Kisco, Muttontown, New Hyde Park, New Square, New York Mills, Northport, Nyack, Old Brookville, Old Field, Plandome, Plandome Manor, Pleasantville, Pomona, Port Washington, Ravena, Roslyn Harbor, Russell Gardens, Sands Point, Sag Harbor, Scotia, Sea Cliff, Sleepy Hollow, Spring Valley, Stewart Manor, Thomaston, Tuckahoe, Tuxedo Park, Walden, Warwick, Wesley Hills, Westbury, West Haverstraw, Williston, and Williston Park.

Towns: Bedford, Blooming Grove, Brookhaven, Cheshire, Cicero, Clarkstown, Cornwall, Crawford, East Fishkill, East Greenbush, East Hampton, Fallsburg, Frankfurt, Goshen, Greenburgh, Greenport, Haverstraw, Hempstead, Henrietta, Herkimer, Highlands, Hurley, Lancaster, Lewiston, Liberty, Lloyd, Mamakating, Mamaroneck, Marlborough, Middletown, Mount Hope, Mount Pleasant, Newburgh, New Castle, New Hartford, Niskayuna, North Castle, North Hempstead, North Salem, Old Field, Orchard Park, Ossining, Oyster Bay, Philipstown, Plainfield, Poughkeepsie, Ramapo, Rosendale, Rotterdam, Rye, Shandaken, Shawangunk, Southold, South Fallsburg, Stony Point, Thompson, Ulster, Union Vale, Van Etten, Woodbury, and Yorktown.

Cities: Albany, Fulton, Hudson, Lockport, Long Beach, Mechanicville, New York, Plattsburgh, Port Jervis, Rensselear, and Tonawanda.

Police Departments: Amityville, Centre Island, Crawford, Haverstraw, Kiryas Joel, Lake Success, Lancaster, Lewiston, Lloyd Harbor, Long Beach, Lynbrook, Malverne, Mamaroneck, Monticello, Mount Pleasant, Neewburgh, New Castle, New York Mills, Niskayuna, Northport, Port Jervis, Poughkeepsie, Ravena, and Ulster, and the Police District of Port Washington.

Additional Municipal Clients Includethe Fire Districts of Jericho, Levittown, and Melville; the Water Districts of Plainview, Manhasset-Lakeville, South Farmingdale, and South Huntington; the Town of Shandaken Ambulance Service, the Town of Ramapo Parks & Recreation Department; the Hempstead Sanitation District; the Housing Authorities of New York City and the Town of Oyster; the Town of Hurley Highway Department; the Orange-Ulster B.O.C.E.S. and the Sullivan County B.O.C.E.S.; the Greenburgh Central, Hempstead Union Free, Liberty Central, Pelham Union Free, Suffolk County Middle Country, and Wyandanch Union Free School Districts; Kings Collegiate Charter School, Leadership Preparatory Charter School, Uncommon Schools, Inc., and Williamsburg Collegiate Charter School; Bank Street College of Education; the New York City Transit Authority; and the Long Island Railroad.

© 2024 Morris Duffy Alonso Faley & Pitcoff | Disclaimer
Attorneys | Publications | Practice Areas | Verdicts | Appeals | About | Newsletters | Decisions